Monday, February 22, 2010

Classification of Vitamins

Classification of Vitamins
Classically, vitamins have been divided into two groups based on their solubilities in fat solvents or in water.

Thus, fat-soluble vitamins include A, D, E and K, while vitamin of the B-complex and C are classified water soluble.

Fat soluble vitamins are found in foodstuffs in association with lipids.

The fat soluble vitamins are absorbed along with dietary fats, apparently by mechanisms similar to those involve in fat absorption.

Conditions favorable to fat absorption, such as adequate bile flow and good micelle formation, also favor absorption of the fat-soluble vitamins.

Water soluble vitamins are not associated with fats, and alterations in fat absorption do not affect their absorption.

Three of the four fat-soluble vitamins (vitamins A, D and E) are well stored in appreciable amounts in the animal body. Except for vitamin B12, water soluble vitamins are not well stored, and excesses are rapidly excreted.

A continual dietary supply of the water soluble vitamins and vitamin K is needed to avoid deficiencies.

Fat-soluble vitamins are excreted primarily in the feces via the bile, whereas water soluble vitamins are excreted mainly in the urine.
Classification of Vitamins
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Most Popular Articles

Articles around the world

  • Red meat is commonly considered to include beef, veal, pork and lamb (fresh, minced and frozen). In recent years, red meat has attracted much debate regard...
  • Since John Pierpont Morgan Sr. engineered the creation of the Unite States Steel Corporation in 1901, “Big Steel” has been archetype of “big business”. U.S...
  • The United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has defined an “acidified food” as a low-acid food to which acid(s) or acid food(s) has been added to ...

SAF-DYNAMICS of Food Science and Technology

Feed from World of Nutrition